Catering and entertainment · 2024-25R74.4m
R203 967 a day · R17.25 per resident
Source: eThekwini’s audited annual financial statements, municipality only; where they do not show a line separately, the next year’s statements (restated), eThekwini’s annual report or its monthly mSCOA returns to National Treasury (unaudited), each marked as such. Each amount links to its source.
Consultants and professional services · 2024-25R351.3m
R962 348 a day · R81.39 per resident
Source: eThekwini’s audited annual financial statements, municipality only; where they do not show a line separately, the next year’s statements (restated), eThekwini’s annual report or its monthly mSCOA returns to National Treasury (unaudited), each marked as such. Each amount links to its source.
Legal fees · 2024-25R64.1m*1
Source: eThekwini’s audited annual financial statements, municipality only; where they do not show a line separately, the next year’s statements (restated), eThekwini’s annual report or its monthly mSCOA returns to National Treasury (unaudited), each marked as such. Each amount links to its source.
Overtime · 2024-25R1.44bn
R3.9m a day · R333.85 per resident
Source: eThekwini’s audited annual financial statements, municipality only; where they do not show a line separately, the next year’s statements (restated), eThekwini’s annual report or its monthly mSCOA returns to National Treasury (unaudited), each marked as such. Each amount links to its source.
Travel and subsistence · 2024-25R24.9m
R68 279 a day · R5.77 per resident
Source: eThekwini’s audited annual financial statements, municipality only; where they do not show a line separately, the next year’s statements (restated), eThekwini’s annual report or its monthly mSCOA returns to National Treasury (unaudited), each marked as such. Each amount links to its source.
Security services · 2024-25R1.48bn
R4.0m a day · R342.08 per resident
Source: eThekwini’s audited annual financial statements, municipality only; where they do not show a line separately, the next year’s statements (restated), eThekwini’s annual report or its monthly mSCOA returns to National Treasury (unaudited), each marked as such. Each amount links to its source.
Advertising, marketing and events · 2024-25R176.1m
R482 567 a day · R40.81 per resident
Source: eThekwini’s audited annual financial statements, municipality only; where they do not show a line separately, the next year’s statements (restated), eThekwini’s annual report or its monthly mSCOA returns to National Treasury (unaudited), each marked as such. Each amount links to its source.
Interest and penalties on late payments · 2024-25R55.2m*3
Note: As reported to Treasury (unaudited).
- 2020-21Not reported separately by the metro
- 2021-22Not reported separately by the metro
- 2022-23Not reported separately by the metro
- 2023-24R3 967Treasury, unaudited
- 2024-25R55.2m*3Treasury, unaudited
Source: eThekwini’s audited annual financial statements, municipality only; where they do not show a line separately, the next year’s statements (restated), eThekwini’s annual report or its monthly mSCOA returns to National Treasury (unaudited), each marked as such. Each amount links to its source.
Councillor pay · 2024-25R149.3m
R409 016 a day · R34.59 per resident
Source: eThekwini’s audited annual financial statements, municipality only; where they do not show a line separately, the next year’s statements (restated), eThekwini’s annual report or its monthly mSCOA returns to National Treasury (unaudited), each marked as such. Each amount links to its source.